Smashbox lid primer

Continuing on my Smashbox finds – today I have for you their Photo Finish lid primer.  I have to admit, I have never used an actual lid primer.  I used make-up primer, concealers, etc… and no matter what I used my pretty eyeshadow always ended up pooling into the crease of my eye by noon.  It was frustrating.  Finally I have something to keep my colors in place, and it is an amazing thing.  I’m kind of mad at myself for waiting as long as I have to try a lid primer.  I can only imagine that all work virtually the same.  This will be a basis for all future comparisons, and I have to say that all you competitors out there have a tough battle ahead of you because I found absolutely nothing wrong with this product.

image from http://www.smashbox.com

here is my eye, with primer – no other make-up

The product states you can wear it on its own or under eyeshadow.  Of course I had to try both, and I was equally pleased with both ways.  Wearing it on its own gave me a nice natural lid, which is really nice.  It took away the pinkish tone that my lids normally have on their own.

I also used it under Kat Von D and Victoria Secret eyeshadow.  Both were worn for a full day at work so from the time of application to the time I arrived back at home after work, it is a total of 10 hours of wear.  There were absolutely no bald spots, no color pooling, no extra crud in my creases.  It looked like I had just applied my shadow, and it was fan-freaking-tastic.  Smashbox, you have truly won my heart between the glosses and the primers.  I thought that the “O-line” was outstanding from previous experience, but this last week of using these products has far exceeded my expectations.

You can purchase Photo Finish lid primer and the Softbox lip gloss collection on the Smashbox website.

Products were provided for review

Leave a Reply

