OPI Blue Shatter combos

I’ve been doing some deep thinking followed up by experimenting with my three OPI blue shatter polishes.  What do you think of the following combos?

Note: you can click on the manicure photos to enlarge them

First up

Turquoise shatter.

It has a pearl finish to it which is pretty.  I wanted to do a really obnoxious combo with this, so I layered it over the top of Zoya Bekka which is a pearl finished highlighter yellow color.  The turquoise shatter shattered in very thin lines so you can’t really see the yellow underneath it.  Wasn’t quite what I was hoping for.  I also edited the picture severely because my cuticles look horrible right now.

Second up

Blue shatter.

Before I ever knew I would have blue shatter in my possession I pictured it layered over Hard Candy Sky.  I was finally able to make that dream come true.  The blue shatter is a true royal blue and looks amazing over a light color like this.  This one also has a pearl finish but I liked the way it looked kind of rough without a top coat to really make it shine like I did with the turquoise.

Last but not least…

Navy shatter.

It was a totally creamy jelly matte finish which I thought was really cool and different compared to the others I have tried.  I wanted to have some sparkle underneath since I knew it was a flat colored shatter.   So I layered it over the top of one coat of China Glaze Hyper Haute, then two coats of China Glaze Mrs. Claus, then Navy shatter and a top coat of Seche Vite.

Here is a close-up:

I like how the Navy shatter made the glitters look blue from underneath it.  Those two China Glaze’s together could have been a really neat base color both of the other blue shatters.

This is so fun experimenting.

So now I have to ask, which one is your favorite?  Do you have the blue shatters?  Which one do you want to get your hands on if you haven’t already?

available beginning May 2011 at Professional Salons, including Beauty Brands, Beauty First, Chatters, Dillard’s, JCPenney, Pure Beauty, Regis, Trade Secret, and ULTA, for  $8.50 ($10.95 CAN) suggested retail for each Nail Lacquer.

For more information, please call 800-341-9999 or visit www.opi.com. Follow OPI on Twitter @OPI_PRODUCTS and become a Facebook fan!

OPI shatters provided for 100% honest review

One thought on “OPI Blue Shatter combos

Leave a Reply

