retro nail art

I was inspired to do some new nail art as I was cleaning up my make-up/manicure table.  We get all sorts of free stickers in the mail for our Disney movie club and lots left over from Easter.  I’d been storing them all in my drawer, and then it dawned on me I don’t have to actually wear the sticker on my nails.  I can use the outlines of them for nail art!

First step – paint with a base color.  I started with OPI Planks A Lot.  Let it dry completely.  Then I took a medium-sized circle sticker and placed one on each of the bottom right corner of my nails.

These are the stickers I used…

Second step – paint with your next color choice.  I chose China Glaze Virtual Violet.  Pull away the sticker when you are done painting each finger on that entire hand.  (only do one hand at a time)

Obviously I had painted my second color already and my step by step photos were an after thought.

Here is what the hand looks like if you were to stop here.

Step 3 – find a larger sticker and cover an upper portion of the nail to expose a diagonal section of the tip for painting.

left over Easter egg stickers.  Paint the exposed area.

I chose China Glaze Liquid Leather as my last color.

Finish with a top coat.  I used Seche Vite.

You can use any color combo you want which means there are about a billion different versions of this you can do.  I liked the variety of polish finishes I chose to give it depth.  It looks a little mod/retro to me but you can call it whatever you want.  What do you think?  Is there a particular combination you would want to see?

I hope you’re all having a great weekend.  I’m excited to have one more day off of work tomorrow.  We are heading to Lowe’s to buy more storage for all my polishes and make-up!  If you have any storage suggestions, please let me know!  You can email me: beautybesties@yahoo.com, and message me on Facebook or Twitter.  xoxo

2 thoughts on “retro nail art

Leave a comment